All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

When it comes to the issue the ways for improving students’ performance, some people believe that parents should spend some time with their children in the school. However, others have the opposite view and think that this approach can not be fully functional. As far as I am concerned, the last point carries more weight. I take this position on account for the following reasons.

First, let us take a look on why some people like this idea that people should be required to volunteer time their children’s school. In the school, parents can speak with teachers and be familiar with their idea for improving their children’s progress. In through this, they can gain the deeper understanding of their children developments. In addition, many parents come to school for spending time with their children and this provides a suitable condition that parents transfer their knowledge with each other. So, they can be more familiar with children’s problems that may face in the future and find solutions for them.

Second, I admit that the presence of parents in the school can beneficial for students, while all parents can not come to the school. In fact, parents usually have to work in all day long, or may they can not schedule their working according to the school time. In addition, some of the children have not parents or at least responsible parents. In this way, this program can have numerous negative effects on students that their parents do not participate in it.

A further point we must consider is that when parents come to the school frequently, it can impact on children attitude negatively. As we all know, the school has a special atmosphere that leads to students focus on learning and compete with others for improving their academic knowledge. However, when their parents mostly came to the school, students feel more comfortable and forget the school is the different place of their home. Therefore, this plan can decrease students’ obedience and disrupts the academic process.

All above evidence supports this undeniable that the plan not only can not help students in the most cases but also can affect them negatively. Of course, as an English proverb goes “a coin has two sides”; therefore, those agree with this idea partially reasonable that parents can monitor better their children’s development. Nevertheless, I think that its disadvantages outweigh benefits.