All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

As the population boom in recent years, under the pressure of same school but more kids, parents are figuring out ways to do something more for their children: they tend to help school with those off-campus activities or give lectures for their kids’ class. Such situation is gaining more gravity that there are views that parents should be obliged to volunteer time to their kid’s schools. Personally, I mostly disagree with such idea in the following three perspectives.

First of all, I admit such volunteering event will definitely bring advantages to parents. Parents will be able to know more about their kids than those who do not volunteer in kids’ schools. People usually argue that when a kid goes to school, the closest adults are no longer his or her parents, but the kid’s teacher. This holds true because teacher always keeps an eye on those students, which those parents are not capable of. Thus, instead of asking “what did you have at school”, parents can physically be at the school and investigate what their kid did in a ordinary school day. Also based on the volunteer “field trip” in school, the communication between volunteer parents and teachers will be much better, since parents are able to have a more thorough impression of kids’ teachers better.

However, such requirement that all parent should volunteer time to kids’ school is far from realistic. Theoretically speaking, parents are paying all kinds of money to buy the school service to educate their children. Even though it seems cold-blood, this is always the case. Parents their own have their own job to do during workdays, and such stuff is already burden-some that they usually do not have time to care about kids’ study. Such scenario gives rise to the quick development of off-class tutoring, ranging from teaching extra knowledge to taking care of children’s homework. Parents usually do not have time to answer their kids 1001 questions, let alone volunteer time to go to their kids’ schools and do some extra tasks.

Giving that such requirement is not quite possible, there might be a medium approach that can help parents to know kids school life better but not so obligatory. Schools can provide a school open day for parents to visit the school and experience kid’s class, which can get a win-win in return: parents know the school life better and teachers can get feedback from parents so that they can optimize the teaching strategy.

In today’s world, there is competition everywhere. People compete against everyone else to get a better score, to get a better job and to win a better education for their kids, which I think is totally an act of wasting extra effort for the same outcome. So is this argument, it is not issue only for parents but one that for school to solve as well, so that a more peaceful and optimized education environment can be fulfilled by both sides’ effort.