All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The given statement suggests that hiring consultants from outside the company is redundant, it would be more efficient to listen to the employees in the organization. I agree with some parts of the statement and disgree with some other parts to some extent. As expressed in the statement, listening to the employees may indeed be better that hiring outside consultants in many cases, as the employees would have better insight on the company and could better addres their own problems. On the other hand though, an outside consultant can provide an insight from the outsite, without being affected by the biases inside the company.

Let me give you an example scenario. On a company, someone in a high position is abusing his power and is pressuring the employees under him to stay quiet. Someone noticed the discrepencies in the works and decided to ask the employees in the company and listen to them to locate the issue. What do you think will happen? the employees here are suppressed, they will not talk bad about their superior in fear of retaliation. Maybe the one abusing the power would get alarted by the activities to find the problems and become more careful, but the issue at hand will not be solved entirely. In the same scenario, if an outside consultant was hired, he could work without fear and pressure, meticulously screening all the details to pinpoint the real issue.

On another scenario, lets suppose in a company, the employees were facing problems with the tools and the production environment, resulting in a decrease in production. The employees has been complaining to the hinger-ups of the issues, but when they noticed that the higher-ups do not listen to them properly, they stopped wasting their breath. When production decreased dramatically, the higher-ups became concerned and decided to hire an outside consultant to find the issues. The consultant, being unfamiliar with the environment of the company, had a hard time pinpointing the issue, but lets say he found it and reported back. The hinger-ups had to pay him an subtential amount of money for the job. In this case, hiring the outside consultant was indeed a waste. The issue could have been handled much earlier and more efficiently if only the company listened to the employees.

As seen in the examples scenarios, the issue depends vastly on the situation of the company, the type of problem that is being addressed and a lot more. It is not possible to be fixed on one opinion, in some cases, hiring outside consultants is the more practical choice, in others, listening to the employees is the better one. In my opinion, a mixture of the two, depending on the situation and need, is the best choice. The companyies should always listen to their employees and hire outside consultants in the issue at hand requires it.