All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Do companies have to spend more time listening to their employees or should they hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently? While employees can give suggestions, it is better to take suggestions from consultants that are more experienced in company operational growth.

Firstly, it is important to understand that employees working for the company may not be particularly suited to give advice pertaining to efficient company growth based on the premise that their job description does not entail such. The employees are employed for different roles and employed to perform specific tasks based on their level of experience and area of specialization. For example, you can not possibly tell a doctor to give suggest ways to operate more efficiently as a specific consultant is more suited for that purpose, so likewise the company can not possibly take advice from an entry level employee as he or she has no basic experience yet to suggest ways to make the company operate more efficiently.

Furthermore, if the company even agrees to listen to the suggestion of its employees, there is no assurance that they will be willing to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently neither is there any guarantee that their suggesting will be practicable or implementable. Employees of the company may be holding grudges against the management for varying reasons ranging from poor welfare or inadequate salaries so therefore in this case, it will be advisable for the company to hire outside consultants to suggest ways to operate more efficiently.

In conclusion, as the bulk of the evidence shows, the employees cannot be solely relied on to give good and effective suggestions as accurate as outside consultants who are specialists in company operations will give so it can be said that the decision of companies to hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently is not uncalled for but rather necessary.