All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

For a company to grow exponentially, there is a need for consistent updates and feedback implementation. Some organizations engage the services of a consultant while others use the comments from employees to effect the necessary changes for the company's growth. it has been argued that the use of consultants for this process would be totally unnecessary if employers listen to their staff. However, this logic is flawed for a number of reasons.Many might think that the opinions of employees are very valid as they are the ones who are often affected by a company's policies and cultures. While this might be true, it does not consider that the feedback of employees can often be biased and based on emotion rather than logic. Workers would always seek out policies and changes that benefit them first before thinking of its impact on the organization.It is also worthy to note that the use of a consultant provides an opportunity to have a critical look at the organizations structure without any emotional influence. With the engagement of a consultant, policies that are adveresly affecting the organization can be noted and solutions can be provided with expertise. With valid experience as a professional and an outsider, changes that are needed to effect reasonable changes that will ensure an organization's growth can be proferred wholesomely.Another reason why relying on the opinions of employyes cannnot be relied on is that employees can have differing opinions about issues. This will in turn cause discord in an organizations and the possibility of thoughts about favoritism. To avoid this, an outsider has to be sought to provide a diplomatic process of growth. No organization suceeds when they is disarray within it and as such avoid aproaches that can make employees feel sidelined or irrelevant.This is not to say that engaging the services of consultant is not without its own shortcomings. However, the pros far outweigh the cons. Also, employees can also be involved in a restructureing process as contributers but not as the lead. To conclude, listening to the concerns of employees is not invalid. In fact, it is very important. However, it is preferably that an expert id hired to understand these concerns and opinions and provide expert advice based on them.