All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Because of the unique nuances of the inner-workings of each company, I somewhat agree with the premise that consultants would be unnecessary if companies spent more time listening to their own employees. However, outside consultants do bring in a fresh perspective and may have some useful insights into solving common problems.

It is generally accepted that greater experience with a company increases your value as an employee. This is evidenced through pay-raises as an employee continues on with a company, and many incentives to keep employees on such as promotions, bonuses, etc. The reason behind this is that more experience with a company allows one to understand all the inner-workings of the company and to have firsthand knowledge of which problems frequently pop up and why certain policies are in place. There are a plethera of anecdotal stories of the new manager who comes in and immediately beginning to make changes with out first asking why said procedures exist in the first place, leading to disasters that were foreseeable to everyone with prior experience at the company. For instance, say a lawncare company has worked at a given property for years and always follows the same procedure of unloading the fertilizer around the corner of the property first thing in the morning then moving the dirt to the front in the afternoon. An outside consultant comes in and sees the wasted man hours spent moving the fertilizer between two locations and orders everyone to unload directly in the front yard. The workers comply and unload everything to the front yard at 7 am only for the sprinklers to come on at 8 am, as they do every day, and wash the majority of the dirt away. This example is a bit on the simplistic side as this issue could be easily explained to the consultant but in reality these issues can be much more complex.

Despite the advantage of job-specific experience and knowledge workers have, outside consultants are not worthless. Oftentimes when something has always been done a certain way people can grow complacent and have difficulty considering any other way something can be done. The consultant has the advantage of bringing in a fresh perspective without the biases of the status quo. He or she may be able to innovate and increase efficiency. Furthermore, employees are not incentivized to spend time and energy learning an entirely new system when they have perfected the old one--even if doing so could save them time in the long-run. Additionally, employees may feel the need to avoid criticizing their higher ups in order to maintain a positive work environment and favorable reputation. Outside consultants have no such concerns and can call out supervisors on their mistakes. The consultants also have experience of their own in that they devote their entire careers specifically to solving issues of efficiency and thus have seen some issues time and time again. The benefit of this is twofold: it means they have no other responsibilities and can focus solely on coming up with solutions to inefficiency and it means they know tried and true methods of boosting efficiency that others may not.

The advantages of each party lead me to conclude that employees should be the first to be asked how efficiency can be improved and it is crucial that management takes the time to ask what difficulties they face that are slowing them down. However, for a major boost in productivity consultants can be a valuable tool, so long as they work in conjunction with employees who can explain the implications of each solution they implement and tailor it to fit the intricacies of the company.