All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The quest for greater profitability has been the goal for many companies. With profitability driven by revenues and costs, both implicit and explicit costs, coupled with the dynamic business environment at the micro and macro level, businesses are under more pressure to deliver more efficiently. This pressure is made more pronunced with a global landscape, increased access to informatiuon which has made both customers and competition more sensitive and knowledgeable, thus leading to a highly competitive, turbulent and dynamic landscape that would require those with special insights, methodologies and skills specifically honed to address problems businesses may encounter while trying to navigate such tortuous environmrnt and deliver efficiently.

The need for external consultants who possess the aforementioned qualities is therefore paramount and thus businesses should continue to hire credible outside consultants who have little to no conflict of interests when consulted, proven methodologies obtained from their industry wide engagement, specific skills and relevant templates needed to extensively find and treat business issues.

Conflicts of interest is one of the key factors to consider when deciding who would be a more reliable source of advise. Consultants given the fact that they are from outside the company would have a more objective outlook on the activities of the company and would make recommendations that are in the best interest of the company. Although, one may argue that an internal employee would hold such objectivity, one would have to consider scenarios where the best recommendations would adversely affect the role of the employees or those who they might have built relationships with within the company. This kind of situation would put employees in positions where they have to cover up or lie about certain things just to save their jobs or that of one they care for. For instance, the best way for a company to work more efficiently might be to eliminate a certain business unit which would require job cuts, an internal employee heading or in that business unit may be unable to give such recommendation as it may lead to his job being cut.

Another important point to consider is the skill and knowledge factor, one may argue that employees have more insight as to the running of the business. However, such insight does not translate into being able to consult properly. being able to handle business operations does not necessarily translate to the skill of beimg able to solve high level business problems.For instance, the fact that a football player is very skilled does not mean he would be a great coach, we have seen many great players perform badly as coaches and heard of so many coaches that cannot even control a soccer ball. Consultants are usually well vast in the art of consulting where they employ the use of proven methodologies and rely on knowledge gleaned from their experience while applying techniques learned and specifically honed.Though employees may possess insights that may be quite relevant, these insights are not enough and would require a specific level of skill to be utilised properly.

Given the points stated, it would be a better strategy to hire outside consultants with the specific skill and objectivity needed to evaluate and make recommendations that would enable the company run more efficiently.