All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Right off the bat, the statement discards the idea of taking into account external factors. As one can analyse, going by an old adage," leaving up to the professionals", this certainly makes a strong case for the need of consultants. Just like any other job that may have requisites, consultants are as well trained and have sought experience in such matters. It is understandable that need to operate more efficiently would definitely involve employees of the department in question, however that doesn't limit it to be just them.

An employee hired specialises in their domain, having studied and worked for years, learning from both success and failures. In no way that is being undermined by a consultant. Looking just at the face value, from the prerogative of the employee, it may seem to some extent insulting. It is understandable to see where the employee is coming from, however as previously mentioned and reiterating here, consultants are professionals expertising in this field. Besides, this can also be argued from the point of view of free market, which takes a de facto assumption that sustaining of any business is directly linked to its need in the market. The prevalence of large amount of business consulting firms, reaffirms the fact that this idea is thriving and is not riding on the tail end of survival.

Harping on from the same argument of free market, which advocates for self-regulation, it seems ironical much. In Economics, the theory of production very clearly outlines the objective that being, profit maximisation beyond any other. So, even if we do a cost benefit analysis, it is reasonable to assume that companies have taken into account such considerations and after careful contemplation have moved towards the mentioned idea. Hiring a consultant is obviously expensive and the alternative suggested definitely cuts down this cost to zero. The preference of former to later is again flabbergasting. It is rightly so, if we are looking only at surface level of things.

The philosophy that I would concur with most is that employees of such departments or domains are thorough with the nitty gritty and their presence and opinions should hold high value and should be involved while the consultants assess and come up with ways to better operate and improve efficiency.