All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The speaker claims that companies should listen to their own employees for suggestions on the direction of the company. I consider this viewpoint to be parochial and a stymie to the growth of the company. I strongly disagree with the claim for the following three reasons.

A company reaches the heights that it intends to when it is run efficiently with goals that are achievable to keep it's shareholders happy and have their confidence. this is done only when the targets are reached and the company if not run well would be in peril. What factor determines if the company is working efficiently and if the work done by it's employees is in fact driving the company forwards. is it the revenue that the company is generating, it's share price, how profitable the company is or the market share? one cannot put a finger on the factor that defines the success of the company which is why a consultant who has no idea of how the company works beforehand would work as a mirror to

show

how the company is performing and where it is heading.

There are companies that have great potential and the confidence in the growth of these companies is shown by independent wealthy investers who believe the idea to be decade or century defining. Although these companies are start ups with a brilliant generation defining idea, they are still run by the 'geek' of the class who have no business expertise and how to push the company forwards. A consultant or an expert can help forsee any undue challenges that the start-up might face. The best example that comes to mind is We work. it was endorsed by SouthBank to be the 'next big thing', but an erratic ceo and overvalued stock ultimately led to the firing of the ceo and the company is moribund. thus, it seems logical for a comaony with such potential to have third eye watching over it and keeping the company from going errant.

The finance and how the company runs plays a big role in the company's success. For example a comapany cannot go on a spending spree and buy every other competetion on the market. Nor can the company lose sight of it's goals and spend heavy on one area, placing bets on it to work. A company would go in debt and be bankrupt if a 'great Depression' or 'The Housing Crisis' is repeated like in the case of HQ Trivia. thus, it is essential that comapny look at it's financials from a consultant who can guide out of the abyss if such a situation arises because often times the employees are not aware of the workings at the managemnet level.

Finally, I would like to conclude that a company would succeed of if it has a mirror in front of it to

the mistakes.