All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The statement argues that if companies listened more to their employees it would not be necessary to hire consultants. This is a point often heard by employees complaining about their company and how money is wasted on outside consultant.

At first, it is definitely true that in a lot of companies there is a great gap between the management and the workers and communication often fails. So independentely of consultants it is a necessity that the voice of employees is more heard.

In this aspect, the statement is right: Employees do the work and hence know it the best. Thus they should be the first ones to come up with ideas how to improve the company's performance and how to make processes within the company more efficient.

On the other hand, I do not think that only listening to employees can solve all problems. For example in big companies there are issues concerning several divisions of that company and employees might only see their little bit but not the company as whole. In this situation an outside consultant will help by having an unbiased look on the company and seeing the problem as a whole.

Additionally outside consultants often have a lot of experience and have worked with several different companies. As a consequence they do have a great knowledge of what works in other companies and what was has not worked there. This knowledge they can use in order to make working concepts suitable for the hiring company.

Like already stated employees know their work the best. On the one hand side this is a great advantage over outside consultants who need a lot of time getting to know a company. But on the other hand employees might even know their processes and company too well and thus struggle with being open to new working ways. Additionally they might not even consider completely different options than their recent used processes since they cannot imagine that those work too.

In my own experience, I worked in a big insurance company. While working there we had to do a system migration and therefore asked outside consultants for help. In this case those consultants were absolutely needed since they were experts in this field and have done such things multiple times. Nevertheless as an employee you've often got the feeling that they ruled about your work and you've got a feeling of being helpless. In this case it would have been helpful if we employees had been asked for often how we feel about these changes and what we think how new processes should look like.

In conclusion let me say, that the statement does have a point that whatever a company does it is important that employees are asked about their opinion and what changes they wish for. I am sure that often those ideas are sufficient in order to make a company more efficientely. Nevertheless there certainly are issues which need help from outside consultants like the one described above. But hiring outside consultants should not take the place of asking the own employees.

However, it should never be forgotten that outside consultants are expensive and thus a company should use its own resources before asking for extern help.