All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

As capitalism takes the global stage, a myriad of companies of various sizes have emerged. From large conglomerates like ExxonMobile to start-ups and small and medium enterprises (SMEs) within local markets. Each company invariably faces some kind of operational difficulties as they expand or move into new fields. Being fledglings in certain markets, many companies turn to consultants, who have been deemed as experts and professionals in distinct fields, for advice on operations. This has given rise to many consultant firms like the Boston Consulting Group, McKinsey Consulting and Bain Consulting to name a few. However, detractors of such consultants argue that they are unnecessary, as investing time and resources into listening to the employees within the company would yield the same results. This essay aims to show that although employees may bring certain insights that rival those of consultants, the role of consultants is cannot entirely be replaced. It also depends on the purpose of hiring consultants and the state of the company and its direction in increasing operation efficiency.

Naysayers of the argument for consultants claim that by listening to the views of employees, the employment of consultants would be deemed unnecessary. Indeed, employees are the direct individuals working and experiencing the operational system of the company. Being in the thick of action, they will undeniably face difficulties in operations such as red-tape and extraneous administrative procedures that they can voice out. Changes would hence increase operational efficiency. Such evaluations from employees hence bring sage information that the company can process and incorporate the right changes, improving operational efficiency without incurring additional costs from consultants.

However, there remain areas of operational systems that employees and employers and blind to without hiring consultants. This is because consultants not only have specific training and experience in operational systems of companies, their occupations also give them past experiences working with similar companies, maybe even competitors, who have gone through analogous problems the company is facing. As such, they provide important insights that employees and employers would never have thought of from their past experiences. Consultants also have their own established frameworks that their consulting groups apply, allowing a more structured and organised approach to improve operational efficiency. This would definitely benefit the company in a more direct manner, rather than surveying employees and figuring out further plans of action without prior knowledge and experience in improving operational efficiency in that manner.

In addition, consultants are external to the company and can provide impartial assessments of the operational systems adopted by the company. In contrast, employees have vested interests as they are a part of the company and are likely to be involved in personal office relations or politics. Such can affect the partiality of employees when giving feedback. This instances are less likely to occur when an objective external consultant reviews the company's operational system as their main purpose would be to improve the operational efficiency for the company. They are freed from the workforce politics within the company and can give more sage advice. Therefore, the role of consultants cannot entirely be done away with.

Despite all the points or arguments above, it is important to understand that every company is different in terms of direction, goals and workforce. If the main purpose of Company X is to increase the morale of its workforce so as to increase efficiency of operation, it would make more sense to look inwards at employees than seek the help of external consultants. In contrast, another Company Y might want to to a re-arrangement of departments and workers and the professional advice and experiences of external consultants would definitely be important in such extreme structural changes. Therefore, I disagree to a large extent that listening to employees would make consultants unnecessary in increasing operational efficiency of companies. But I would like to qualify that statement in that it depends on the extent of structural changes and in what manner the company would like to achieve greater operational efficiency.