The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University: A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for the

This argument makes use of an observation based in a nearby Oceania University to support the proposal of instituting a free-tuition policy for professors of Seatown University in order to retain more professors while enhancing the morale and luring new professors to the university. Although the fundamental idea might be the same, there is plenty of information lacking in this argument to support the idea of offering free-tuition for the children of professors.

Firstly, although it might be true that an anecdotal experience in a neighbouring university may provide some grounds in instituting free college tuition for professors with college-aged children, it doesn't take into account that these universities are different. This brings about much vagueness and possible points for contention. If the Seatown University and Oceania university have different qualities of education and different niche subjects, the tuition would be vastly different and have different impacts. For the example of niche subjects, if Oceania university were to specialise in the arts and literature while Seatown University's niche is in science and research and pre-medical education, the latter would definitely spend more on university infrastructure for the latest laboratories, equipments and technology. As such, it might not be a practical solution in the long run to offer free tuition as Seatown University might not even have the financial ability to support this. Additionally, the quality of education also plays a part in the outcome of this policy. Perhaps Oceania University has a lower quality of education while Seatown University employs more established and renowned professors. This could also mean higher tuition fees for Seatown University, making it impractical to offer free tuition.

Another missing link in the argument is the lack of consideration for the demand of both Seatown and Oceania Universities. Different universities have different niches and rankings and certain universities may be more established and recognised, nationally and globally, than others. If for example, Seatown University were less recognised and ranked lower than Oceania University it could mean that even with the instituted free tuition at Seatown University, professors might still not want their college-aged children to study there and choose to let their students study elsewhere. As a result, this would not very much affect the retention of professors.

In addition, the argument suggests that offering free tuition for college-aged children of professors would enhance the morale among faculty and lure new professors. This conclusion cannot be accurately extracted just from the case study of Oceania University. In Oceania University, the policy only showed a higher faculty retention rate. It does not indicate the reasons for the higher retention rate. Perhaps Oceania University has longer contracts than Seatown University, causing faculty members to remain in the university for a longer period of time purely due to binding contracts. It does not correlate to an increased morale and may not necessarily be more inviting to new professors, particularly professors who do not have college-aged children.

In light of the above arguments and different outcomes were different evidence to be presented, Seatown University should re-evaluate the purpose for their policy. If the main reason for the policy is to enhance faculty morale, they should investigate the current faculty morale and ways to improve it if any, perhaps through better working hours and welfare benefits, or even better school policies to increase the standard and quality of teaching at Seatown University. If the main purpose is to attract new professors to the university, Seatown University should break down what kind of professors they are looking for and look at other successful case studies for universities who managed to attract their target group of faculty. If the university aims to improve faculty retention, it should once again survey the reasons why faculty members are leaving and find ways to retain them if possible.