All too often, companies hire outside
consultants to suggest ways for the
company to operate more efficiently.
If companies were to spend more time
listening to their own employees, such
consultants would be unnecessary.
Write a response in which you discuss
the extent to which you agree or
disagree with these statements and
explain your reasoning for the position
you take. In developing and supporting
your position, you should consider ways
in which the statements might or might
not hold true and explain how these
considerations shape your position.
It is true that companies sometimes hire outside consultants expecting that they will contribute to the
increase in efficiency of the company. The say of the higher management generally is that it will add value
to the output if the company and will be beneficiary to all.
The view of the employees whereas is opposite. Their point is that if the management listens to their
problem, pays more attention to them, then they could also become free to share their problems. Also, the
problems they face while working in real life is only known to them. Hence, they are the ones to provide
better solution.
Seeing the things from entirely different point of view, it is better to hire outside consultants to suggest
ways to operate more efficiently. the main and foremost reason is that they have done courses on
consultation and are experts in this field. they know what the present scenario is. So their research on
current markets, strategic ideas will be far more effective than what a normal employee could give.
The consultant, on the other hand, should also be empatheic to the fellow employees and listen to their
problem. Otherwise both the lines would run parallely and will never meet. So the colaboration of the
employees and consultants is of utmost importance.
Consultants from outside will have variable experience. Maybe they know how other organisations work and
hence can help in the betterment of the company. It is obvious that a consultant will have better experience
and knowledge than any other employee.
To end with, it is better to hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the compant to operate more
efficiently. While it will also be expected from the consultant to colaborate with the employees and listen to
them.