Although innovations such as video, computers, and the internet seem to offer schools improved method for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning

Author’s claim “Although innovations such as video, computers, and the internet seem to offer schools improved method for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning”, in my opinion author have overlooked certain benefits that these technologies have add up to students in making the learning process efficient, However, due to technologies students are spending more time with technologies rather than learning from books which provide comprehensive details about each event. At the outset, I would like to accord with author. Following are the reasons for my accordance.

Firstly, Average time spend with these technologies by people is been increasing day-by-day because these technologies, gadgets, etc. are enchanting people. In Past, students were mostly seen delved in books to learn any concept whereas considering current situation, students download soft copy from interest and instead of learning the every details of an event they download a brief version from internet. Today, students have forgotten the real sense of reading where they used to recite stories, poems, events from the books and new innovations like applications of audio books have even worsen the situation where students become passive and have not active communication. If such people are not released of such adverse effects of technologies on them, the day is no far where students will fail to appreciate the learning process and their inquisitive nature will became passive nature.

Secondly, Advent of video’s, computers and Internet have also threaten the heath of people. Such innovations were made so that burden on people to be abreast with information can be reduced as these innovations provide easy accessible to information but considering current situation, these innovations have resulted in adverse effects on health of people. Today, even small child get early eye-nearsightedness whereas in past where students practice learning from books have not experienced such early eye-nearsightedness.

However, these technologies have freed up time for teachers, so that they can utilize that time for betterment of the students like by providing individual attention, solving doubts of students, etc. Thus, author claims that technologies have distracted students form real learning process have a limit in above case, where teachers can provide individual time to students while they are using these technologies. During my secondary schools, my teachers used to go to each and every students to get brief up about what they have learned by watching videos, on internet. This helped many of us to learn new things with more efficacy. Videos are beneficial because they provide visual representation of an event and many studies stated that students learn through visuals with more efficiency.

On wrapping up, technologies have both sides, good as well as bad. It highly depends on the person use. Thus, author’s claim that these technologies have impeded students to have real learning is not wholly correct as these technologies have also been boon in making students understand abstruse as well as mundane topics with efficiency.