Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader it is not as important as a leader s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree wi

Sound moral judgment and the ability to maintain the respect of one's peers are important characteristics of effective leadership. Comparatively, sound moral judgment is more important for a leader than their ability to maintain their peers' respect for them from an ethical perspective. In contrast, a pragmatic perspective suggests that the leader's ability to maintain their peers' respect for them takes precedence.

A system of deontological ethics, where people's rights and duties are respected, reinforces the importance of sound moral judgment. Oftentimes, leaders will encounter difficult moments where they have to make hard choices. These choices, albeit difficult, possibly have right or preferred answers. Sound moral judgment can guide them to it. This philosophical position privileges moral judgment because the maintenance of respect can be achieved through unethical, Machiavellian ways. A charismatic, influential, and persuasive leader can prove their decisions as beneficial or justified to their audience even when they are unethical.

At a micro-level, a small group leader may banish a person from the group and lie to the others about the reasons for the removal or exaggerate them. In such a case, the leader has exercise unethical moral judgment but succeeded to maintain their respect among the peers. At a macro-level, for example, in governance and geopolitics, leaders often take decisions that are detrimental to the common public but their rhetoric and influence save them from the embarrassment that they would have deserved from a deontological perspective.

However, many instances of pragmatism would suggest that a leader's ability to maintain their respect among their peers trumps sound moral judgment. Crucial instances may be observed when moral judgment comes at the expense of respect and impairs functionality and net utility. For example, consider the macro-level case of a political leader. A leader that takes decisions benefitting the public may lose subsequent elections if their actions were interpreted or painted as harmful by their electoral competitors. In such a case, the leader's relative inability to be persuasive and influential rendered their superior ability of sound judgment as a disadvantage, compared to maintaining respect.

Based on the cases at hand, a utilitarian perspective would suggest that the answer is generally unclear and depends on the situation--the characteristic that yields a greater net positive is the more important one. For example, if a leader's respect is well-grounded in a society and their persuasion can prevent their reputation from being tarnished, sound moral judgment on matters such as, environmental policy, would produce substantial positives. However, one must also ask, from whom should the positives be? Then, the measurements of such positives would also be challenging, as is already in matters such as environmental degradation and protection. Most importantly though, can the leader prove their position to the people and prevent losing their respect?

In conclusion, both characteristics are important for effective leadership but taking a position depends on one's ethical commitments. A deontological ethical system would categorically prioritize sound moral judgment while the utilitarian perspective renders a ranking between the two context-dependent.