Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Being a leader denotes a lot of things that should not be underestimated. Leadership qualities include but not limited to boldness, thinking uncharacteristically as well as in favor of its crowd, doing things that can be harsh in the moment and taking risks that not everyone has the strength to do so. As good as maintaining the respect of his or her peers is, it is equally important to manage and make important decisions that affect the leaders members and its kind. So, I think that the leader should have a balance of leadership qualities such as maintaining an environment of harmony, lessen the chaos,continue the respect from peers and continue making smarter choices to help the people collectively move forward and create a balance.

We can take the example of Elon Musk. Elon Musk bought twitter when it had the debt of 12.5 billion dollars. He knew it was not an easy job and some drastic changes would be needed in order to stabilize the company and make ludicrous profits. Musk overtook the company during a time of a pandemic era where a lot of workers couldn't afford to go to the office for health and hygiene reasons. However, Musk post-pandemic ordered almost every employee to come to office as it bolsters productivity of employees. In addition, to bringing them in the office, he also fired 40% of his work force. As harsh, ruthless and inhumane this may sound to cut staff during a post pandemic era where people are struggling economically and mentally, it proved to be a good decision in retrospect. Twitter now has 1300 employees, is pushing for 8$ subscriptions, more advertisements to help twitter make more money to cover the whooping 12 billion debt. Looking back, only few people would take this extreme step and that is what distinguishes them from leaders. As important as it was to gain respect from his peers, it was much more important to make cost cuts and have a stable company that can have a bright future.

On the other hand, it is important to obtain respect from the members of the company, group community while making big decisions. For example, president voting on issues, such as death penalties it is extremely important to get the opinion of the citizens on the country, get their vote on them and make a decision that everyone respects as it is a law that affects every citizen of the country. However, part of being a leader is deciding when it is the time to gain respect of peers and when it is the time to use ability to make austere decisions which can benefit people in the long term.

With this, we can conclude that looking at leadership only through the eye of gaining respect from others is a one dimensional regardless of how important that factor is. Through examples of Elon musk and others, we can culminate our essay by arguing that leadership has multiple roles and duties and it is harmful to say that respect is more important than ability to be an effective leader.