Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader it is not as important as a leader s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers

Sound moral judgment and the ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers are equally important for a leader.

The leader's ability to maintain the respect of his peers is a direct result of his moral compass. His calm and calculated attitude towards dealing with success and failure, his man-management skills are fundamentally based on his moral principles. Inorder to earn the respect of the team, the leader has to take some tough decisions; all these have a direct bearing on his or her peers. When this decision is taken without any form of impartiality, the leader's respect grows in the team. Hence, sound moral judgment of a leader is as important as the ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

When acts are based on a sound moral compass, the individual who takes the final call does not feel about the the iffs and buts of the decision. For example, In team sports like cricket, where the leader has to take some tough tactical decisions based on the prevailing circumstances. The result of such decisions do not clog the leader's mind if it was completely decided according to his moral principles. One bad decision may not make you a loser. But a series of bad decisions will lead you to failure. Ofcourse the team atmosphere is much better during times of victory than of losses. A better atmosphere means there is much better respect and coordination among the team.

Sometimes there might be the one odd instance where the leader feels one option is morally right, but taking a different route will be better for the end - result. An example for this can be seen in the the Indian epic Mahabharat, where Lord krishna has to resort to indirect means to kill the kauravas. Here the ends justify the means. Eventhough some decisions where not supported my a sound moral compass, it was for the greater good. The whole has respected that decision taken by Lord Krishna.

Finally, Sound moral judgement is a cause for the leader to be well respected by his fellow team-mates. Hence both qualities are equally important for a leader.