Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

A person or peer becomes a leader when he or she stands out from the group by the virtue of some special traits. One such trait is the ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

The ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers for a leader is analogous to the ability of a football forward player's shot accuracy. He could have a good speed, stamina, strength but without accuracy, he won't be able to score. Respect often works on a give and take basis. A good leader is not someone who keeps expecting the work to be done and never gives anything back. Rather, a good leader is someone who gives all that he has - no matter how hard it is - and earns the trust and motivation of his peers. Likewise, respect works in a very similar fashion. The leader must respect his peers and be in a good position for his peers to respect him back. If this is the case, if he is not respected by his peers, then it simply means that he is not giving enough which also means he's failing.

A good leader always takes all the opinions and thoughts of his peers into consideration before deciding on anything that holds importance. That being said, if at times there's any confusions or a difference of opinion amongst the team, he must take the ultimate authority and take a solid decision. This decision that he takes, might not be acceptable by his peers if he's not respected enough. But this would work the other way, only if he maintains the respect of his peers. Having spoken about decisions, the team's morale also holds supreme value. If the team respects the leader, it believes the leader. That would lead to the peers working with utmost zeal and energy without any confusions in mind. On the flip side, if the team has doubts on the leader, then the energy goes down and hence directly affecting the team's performance. Let's take a scenario where a leader fails to maintain his respect. The leader here is a politician. Politicians often are directly compared with the term 'leader' and it becomes almost mandatory for a politician to be a good leader. If the leader of a political party is incredibly talented but fails to have the ability to maintain the respect of his party members, he will soon be replaced by a stronger leader who holds that ability. We've often seen this in real life too and fits in this scenario perfectly.

Coming to the part about moral judgement, at times sound moral judgements could be directly related to be able to maintain the respect as at times, peers tend to respect someone who is morally right. Being able to make solid moral judgements is one of the most sought after attributes or traits of a leader but, its definitely not as important as being respected. Let's assume another scenario where a leader is very good at moral judgement. He's probably going to be solid in his judgements, but is this going to help? The answer is no. The characteristic of 'sound moral judgement' might be a good attribute to have in the bucket, but who's going to oblige to the judgements if there is no respect to the leader. This clearly paves to the thesis of my analysis which is that - the ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers is more important than being able to make solid moral judgements.

On the whole, it is favorable if a leader has the ability to make moral judgements, but without the ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers, he won't be able to sustain.