Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

People all over the world have unique characteristics that shape them into who they are. As for leaders, these characteristics matter even more, because, in their hands, hold the power and ability to affect their respective followers. Although it is important for a leader to maintain the respect of his or her peers, it is more important for the leader to have sound moral judgement and a good sense of right and wrong because of how easily swayed groups of individuals may be, and how the most important decisions do not necessarily lead to the ones that could gain the most respect from peers.

In almost every country in Africa, the LGBTQ community is looked down upon. So much so that many countries have criminalized anyone that may be affiliated with the community, with up to 14 years in prison to life imprisonment as possible sentences. Due to reasons such as tradition, culture and religious beliefs, many countries in Africa hold so dearly to anti-LGBTQ laws, and also vilify and discourage their neighborhood African countries to grant the LGBTQ community their rightful laws. South Africa, on the other hand, is one of the only two nations in Africa to have LGBTQ rights. It is the only nation, irrespective of what the political heads of other African nation states may say and do, that has granted the LGBTQ community their rights to freedom despite their sexual orientation, because the South African democratic government know that it is wrong to deny anyone their freedom because of their sexual orientation.

Moreover, take the story of Martin Luther King for example. MLK grew up in a community where the black was the lowest caste in the society. The black man was treated very poorly and were not afforded basic rights. However, in that time, that was the way the world was. It was normal that black people were second class citizens, and it was almost impossible to move up the social ladder as a black person. People, both black and white, wanted to keep things the way they were as to not cause any form of commotion or disruption in the society. During the Civil Rights movement, many people, including his family advised him to stop his protests. In his memoir, he mentioned that people would frequently ask him why he did what he did, and how he would lose surely lose the respect of his esteemed white peers. MLK, however, knew in his heart that he had to fight for what was right despite what people around him may say. He used his sound moral judgement to change the constitution of America, which surpassed the importance of maintaining the respect of his peers.

A leader's ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers is important. Without respect from peers, it may be difficult for the people you are leading to follow you. However, peers may change from time to time, and opinions of those peers may change as well, but sound moral judgement is usually unwavering and consistent.