Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Leadership is a quality which is much sought out in individuals. A person's ability to lead and guide other people can increase the person's value. While it is important for a leader to maintain the respect the of his or her peers, a moral judgement is more important a characteristic.

A leader who is always trying to please his or her peers, bears high risk of becoming a puppet of theirs. They stray away from the calculated decisions they make by continually altering them to cater to everyone. Making these alterations can remove essential parts of a decision just for the convenience of some.

The competencies they had displayed that got them into this position of leadership are somewhere lost while trying to accommodate their peers. The skills and knowledge they acquired from their experiences and their ability to use that knowledge to analyze future situations, and further, find solutions to them gives true meaning to the term leader. Most people would not trust a person with poor judgment to guide other people as they would not be sure whether the situation is moving towards the right direction.

furthermore, not having a sound moral judgement can obscure their vision of the bigger picture. Their decisions can become increasingly irrelevant to the bigger picture. It can also go to an extent where the leader's ability to make appropriate decisions is permanently damaged and they may also fall in to being unethical.

Having said this, peers are essential to make a good leader. They are who keep the leader in check from taking on a dictator like role. They also important to validate the decisions taken by their leader and give suggestions for improvement. Hence, leaders need to respect their peers.

In conclusions, a leader's judgement is what makes them a leader. Maintaining the respect of peers stands lower in the hierarchy of necessary qualities of a leader.