Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Leaders can bring about great revolution. They can either be the tools that usher humanity into a better era, like Martin Luther King, or those who bring about generations of suffering and inflict terrible pain, like Adolf Hitler. Since they hold immense power, I believe that the most important quality of an effective leader is having a sound moral character.

A good leader is one who creates a good example. He must always strive to do the right thing, because only then will the organization be morally sound. For any company to build the trust of their customers, it is essential that they follow business practices that are fair and do not adversely affect society. If the leader himself does not live up to that standard, it is unlikely that his peers will. This will eventually lead to the organization crumbling as a result of their duplicitous business practices.

Furthermore, having a sound moral character is infinitely more important than being able to command the respect of your peers. Everyone in your team may respect you, but unless you have a morally sound goal, your efforts will be in vain. In fact, they may cause more destruction and lead to society actually being worse off! Consider the example of Adolf Hitler - many will argue that he was a brilliant commander, and almost everyone will agree he had the respect of his peers. However, he led to the execution of hundreds of thousands of Jews, and his massacres are still considered to be one of the worst crises humanity ever had to suffer, hundreds of years later.

It is true that a leader will only be able to keep his peers motivated if they feel a sense of unity, and towards that end, they need to be able to respect their leader. If they don't respect their leader, they might always have a residual feeling that they could have done the job better. Although this might reduce productivity, they are better off this way rather than having a leader that has negative and malicious intent.

Therefore, it is extremely crucial for a leader to be of sound moral judgement, even more so than his ability to maintain the respect of his peers. If not, disastrous results may ensue, and entire generations may have to suffer the consequences.