Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers

The statement inclines towards the ability of a leader to maintain the respect of his or her peers rather than a sound moral judgement. I believe a good moral judgement would improve the ability of the leader in preserving the respect of his or her followers makes a person a strong leader.

Let's assume a leader who has impeccable admiration from his or her peers but doesn't have a strong moral judgement. If there is a critical situation where he or she has to take a stance the leader's judgement quotient plays a major role because on wrong decision would also effect the strength of his or her relationship with the followers. This is not the mannerism expected of an effective leader.

Now in contradiction let's consider another leader who has a cogent moral judgement but is not much creditable. If there is a confounding moral situation and the leader is able to rectify the situation he or she would gain the respect for his actions and judgement.

Although the statement is true in some cases, I presume that a solid moral judgement is an important characteristic of an effective leader.