Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Although these characteristics, to some extent, seem to go hand in hand. Overall, sound moral judgment is a more important characteristic of an effective leader particularly if we define 'effective' as someone who is tasked with leading a group, organization, populace, etc. to create something better. Making the right decision is more important than making a decision.

Most people can make a judgment on a situation especially if it is black and white. The distinguishing characteristic of a leader is someone who is able to command and lead by making decisions in the grey. Leading by example is an effective way to get people's trust that the right decisions will be made and not only when it's easy. Trust, in turn, begets respect. An example of this is in The Zookeeper's Wife, a true story of two Polish citizens who saved the lived of hundreds of Jews by hiding them in their old zoo complex. The protagonists could live in relative safety relative to their Jewish counterparts but ultimately decide to rebel and protect their fellow humans. They start small but eventually are able to build their network and support to support over 300 lives. Their ability to do the right thing even when it was challenging and meant sacrifices within their own lives won the support of the community and enabled them to have a far bigger impact. In this situation, they had a choice. And making the right choice, exercising sound moral judgment, helped them effectively lead a group of people by winning their trust and respect.

On the other hand, it is very challenging to be an effective leader if you are unable to get the support of the people and your peers behind you. In elections, for example, it is impossible to win no matter how strong your policies and platform are if you can't win over a majority of the population which means also winning the support of your peers. However, as important as it is to have the right number of people behind you, it is far more important to have the right people behind you. You are less effective if you are catering to the masses rather than doing the right thing. And, ultimately, the masses are looking for someone who will create something new and change the status quo rather than someone who will perpetuate the existing state. Looking at the last Presidency, Barack Obama, though he was able to get the support of the people, he was also subjected to great deal of scrutiny and criticism from his peers. And, ultimately, he won by exercising sound moral judgment and standing for the right thing despite how challenging it was to do so and even though it came at the cost of losing the respect of some of his peers. He won the hearts of the right peers who in turn moved his supporters and won him the Presidency.

Ultimately, though both characteristics are important in an effective leader, sound moral judgment is far more important. It allows great leaders to build and maintain respect from the right peers and supporters which is more impactful.