In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely to make important contributions than the expert

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is a common misconception that the newcomer to a field of study is more likely to make important contributions than an expert. There is a limit to the level of creativity a person can bring to bear on any field of inquiry. A person’s mind can only look at one idea at a time. Beginners have no special insight or creativity compared to experts, only a lack of experience. This can lead beginners down rejected paths, not understanding why they were not pursued by experts previously. Sometimes this bears fruit, and other times only shows why the experts previously moved on. It is every bit as likely that long years of careful work, slowly chipping away at a problem piece by piece, leads an expert to break through.

In any field of serious study, major innovations are often inevitable advancements. Albert Einstein’s theories of relativity are thought of as revolutionary, however Lorenz’s theories immediately predicted relativity in its entirety. In fact, relativity is simply computing the solution to a set of constraints and equations proposed by Lorenz, with only minimal insight necessary to achieve the solution. Minkowski later developed the insight necessary to build relativity to its modern understanding by cosmologists. If Einstein’s contributions are taken as insight from a newcomer, the contributions of two experts must also be recognized for the one upstart.

Competitive chess can serve as another ideal example. It takes many years of study and thousands of practical games before anyone can explore the space of games already played and get to a point where the existing theory has not been reached. Chess prodigies such as Igor Smirnov or Hikaru Nakamura reached grandmaster status well before they earned recognition for creating new tactical combinations. Their innovations are both deeply embedded in complex positions that are simply not reached by amateur players. Anna Cramling’s Cow opening, even though it was invented by her as an intermediate player, is regarded as only a minor contribution. Chess prodigies are judged by how quickly they can cover the same ground as previous grandmasters, not on how quickly they can innovate new techniques.

Experts tend to approach fields of inquiry along established lines and using conventional approaches while beginners are more likely to come up with many wild alternatives to explore. Particle physics relies on the Standard Model, which makes the most precise predictions about certain universal constants of any field of science. Many alternatives, such as string theory, MOND, and the Aether have come and gone since the development of the standard model, and every single one of those theories has broken down, while the discovery of the Higgs Boson represented a major confirmation of the standard model. The hundreds of experts working at CERN on a highly conventional approach have gradually improved the Standard Model into one of the most reliable and precise theories ever proposed. In their seemingly small, cautious and incremental method, the experts triumphed where iconoclastic beginners failed time and time again.

It is true that the fresh faced graduate student or new professors often make breakthroughs that grab attention. This is due to two factors; the younger researchers are often in a career stage that is more focused on research than administration or teaching. Also, the younger researchers’ breakthroughs are unexpected, meriting more media attention by the very fact that they are surprising. It is for all of these factors that the beginner is no more likely to make important contributions than experts.