The luxuries of modern life prevent people from developing into strong and independent individuals.

Modern life is filled with all sorts of luxuries, from automobiles, to the internet, to an endless variety of fresh foods available at all times of year. Meeting our physical needs and staying connected and entertained has never been easier. However, Every single advance in technology brings with it new and serious challenges while opening up new ways of living. Modern luxuries require more strength than in the past, not less, even if the kinds of strength are different from the raw brute physicality of bygone eras. The luxuries of modern life are forcing people to develop to stronger and more independent individuals, rather than inhibiting them.

Consider the automobile, and heavy equipment in general. It makes the world smaller and allows travel in minutes that would have taken days in previous eras. Taking advantage of this luxury requires training and mental discipline to operate safely, since unlike walking, even a moment’s inattention can prove fatal. In places throughout modern society, operating heavy machinery or driving a car is essential. Most cities are ‘car-dependent’ and without one, it is impractical to leave one’s neighborhood and perform basic tasks such as going to the grocery store to buy food. Maintaining a car is expensive, and the simple convenience of owning a car requires financial discipline to maintain enough income to support this necessity, and the mental discipline to operate safely every time one gets behind the wheel. Reliance on a vehicle for transport, a single luxury, places at least two demands on every adult not found in previous years.

Access to the internet is another area fraught with danger. The internet grants new access to information and the ability to communicate with people in real time without regard to distance and in some cases, even language. Ideas can propagate quickly, and events can be observed in real time. The internet poses multiple dangers commensurate with the information superpowers it grants. The phrase “a lie can be halfway around the world before the truth even gets its shoes on” is well attested to in the torrents of information that ricochet around internet echo chambers, and how many people are misled by internet hoaxes. The reality is that opening oneself up to the internet’s massive torrent of unfiltered data requires a level of mental strength not known to our forebears. Deep skepticism, fact checking, and mental independence to avoid being swept away to radicalization or preyed upon by scammers are key skills for all modern adults.

Even food illustrates this same trend. Modern society is replete with convenient food, fresh fruits and vegetables, and packaged food that can provide a full meal in only a few minutes in the microwave. There is a dangerous trend in food that the obesity epidemic illustrates. Food companies have developed the science of satiation to a high art, and many packaged foods, full of fat, sodium, and sugar, are literally addictive. Modern society is the only one that has ever existed where it is common for individuals to be both overweight and undernourished at the same time. Those dangers are no less serious to health than the dangers of malnutrition in previous generations when food was overall scarcer. The strength to resist intense fusillades of advertisement, and even resist the cravings from within our own bodies as we consume foods scientifically tailored to human biology borders on the herculean. No person who is able to maintain a healthy lifestyle while swimming in food that would have made kings of medieval Europe jealous cannot be said to be weak. Even more, making healthy choices among many options requires a level of consideration and independence that is hard to imagine for those who have never had so many choices to begin with.

In conclusion, strength is not just about how many kilos one can lift or or how long one can toil in the sun behind a plow. Knowledge, self discipline, and discernment are strengths that are every bit as important as physical power. With each modern luxury that makes physical needs easier to meet and reduces the need for physical prowess, two new challenges appear to use that technology responsibly and navigate the new landscape without harm. There are so many people who would entrap or take advantage of those who slip up that independent thought to defend against manipulation becomes even more important than something like the ability to identify a few edible berries was in the past. Some might argue that physical strength and pioneering spirit are all that really matter, but look at how easily more ‘down to earth’ peoples have been conquered by their more modern and technologically advanced competitors. No, modern life brings new challenges, and those challenges require greater personal strength and independence to meet than epochs before.