In any profession — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There are numerous reasons why a person in power may be reluctant to leave even after a long while. The desire may be purely honest; a longing to achieve great things for an organization, or a worry that all what has been built might come tumbling down due to an incompetent successor. The desire to stay in power may also be pure undiluted greed and selfishness. In either case i agree with the assertion that leaders, be it in politics, education or government should be in power for no more that 5 years for three reasons.

To begin with, having a leader stay in power for too long is likely to breed corruption and unhealthy office politics. The leader and his coterie may become too accustomed to the power they possess and start to believe they can do away with an abuse of power. They are also likely to build certain ties of favouritism and nepotism that do not augur well for the organisation and yet can only be severed by a change in leadership. Take for example the recent scandal that blemished the world football federation, FIFA. These leaders had stayed in power for so long that they had inevitably built a network of corruption that spanned the entire organization and included the president himself and several prominent members.

Additionally, when leaders stay in power for an excessive amount of time, innovation in the entire organisation is stifled. Leaders may continue to believe that the highly effective and profitable methods they have been using are going to keep working and may become oblivious to the changing industry landscape. Take for instance the story of Thomas Edison, the american inventor who pioneered and made electricity available in many homes, and Nicolai Tesla, the young upcoming scientist who made it possible to transmit and use alternating current. Although Thomas was undoubtedly a brilliant man, he failed to see how alternating current could be made safe for use and instead of finding a way to circumvent the dangers of alternating current, bet fully on his direct current. This nearly resulted in his business being crippled. Young, energetic, ambitious talent at times need to be infused into leadership to provide a renewed vigor and a new perspective.

People who do not support the idea of limiting the tenure of leaders normally cite the sustainable development that results from having a good leader stay in power for a long time. Sustainable development however can be achieved all the same by developing long term plans serve as the steering wheel of an organisation, regardless of who is in power. These plans can then be reviewed regularly to ensure that as time goes on, they do not become outdated.

Leaders are meant to serve as the representatives of the members of an organisation. It is however difficult to ensure the interests of a group are duly served when one leader is allowed to monopolise power. Young talent should be trained and mentored to emulate and improve on the ways of those they succeed. This is the best way, i believe, to ensure the longevity of an organisation.