Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is said that the roots of education are bitter but the fruits are sweet. It is no surprise therefore that parents and society try to various extents to steer their loved ones to pursue degrees that will ensure they enjoy the fruits of their labour. Some people assert that our educational institutions, being in a better position to access a student’s strengths and current employability trends, should dissuade students from pursuing courses that will yield little benefit. I however disagree with this opinion for three reasons.

To begin with, unless in extreme cases, educational institutions are bound to misjudge a student’s abilities and hence, likelihood of success in a particular field. Schools may also underestimate a student’s ability to perform in a field; students may make for their weaknesses with strength in other areas. It is well known that the famous physicist and inventor, Thomas Edison was not the best at math and though this may have seemed an insurmountable hindrance his success is ubiquitous; in every light bulb on our streets. Also, various people have succeeded as actors and talk show hosts in spite of being shy and taciturn back in school. Students may fail to exhibit their true potential due to several factors including shyness or a lack of concentration. Therefore it is the role of schools to identify shortcomings in students and help them develop.

Additionally, the job market is dynamic; fields that were considered profitable and prestigious could be on the decline a mere decade later. A school that encourages a student to pursue a field based on expected earnings may be setting them up for disappointment. Take for instance accounting, which used to be a very lucrative field paying good salaries and bonuses. A dip in the fortunes of banks due to more and more disruption from technology firms with ingenious banking and finance apps coupled with a saturation of the industry has resulted in many degree holders on the prowl for jobs with little success.

People who believe that schools should do more to direct students towards more promising courses may claim that in this times where educational fees are always on the rise and students are left with outrageous loans after school, students should take prudent steps to ensure they don’t end up jobless. I believe that the solution to this however is not to ignore what you are passionate or gifted in but rather to work on your strengths till you are distinguished in whatever field you choose. People who force themselves into certain fields for the sake of a paycheck are likely to end up struggling on the job or depressed and may underperform. Alternatively people who pursue their dreams with hard work and dedication will surely carve out a reputation for themselves and may end up employing others.

Choosing a field to pursue is an arduous task that burdens many students. A schools assistance to its students in this endeavour cannot be understated. It is however not to foist a career choice on students; a choice that will change the entire course of these students’ lives, but to encourage and help students discover and develop their passions and strengths so they can contribute to our society at large.