Stating that those in power should step down after five years, many would say that an organization can make a meaningful progress with introducing new leadership in a regular basis. In some sense, it is difficult to deny that success of an organization depends on its revitalization through younger, innovative spirits. From my respective, however, this concept ignores that there are also several side-effects from continuous changes in leadership.

Of course, few would disagree that importing new bloods can play a vital role making success of an organization. When it comes to the rapid changes in social, economical, cultural conditions, it seems to be necessary for an enterprise to rely on different perspectives from old and antiquated ones. Understanding that a new generation of potential customers has exactly new kinds of tastes and platforms, Bill Gates wisely and bravely stepped down his position as CEO of Microsoft not because he lacked of energy or wisdom but because he recognized that the younger one could more relatively adapt to the new tastes. The example implies that true success of an organization comes from periodically changes in leadership.

Nevertheless, is a stable and consistent leadership always detrimental to the growth of an organization? My answer is definitely no. With respect to building of long-standing identity or tradition in businesses, frequent changes in leadership may work against. Fortunately, Apple could survive at the brink bankruptcy and in fact, take a tremendous success by relying on an old leadership of Steve Jobs who once again threw clumsy and banal attempts using his own version of innovation. This shows that staying an old leadership can be also an effective way to get success of an enterprise.

Further, the limitation of replacing leadership in an organization from old ones can be found in terms of the lack of experience in business world. In fact, it is not difficult to observe that many younger ones cannot avoid wasting time to make an appropriate improvement because of their poor experience, while old ones with diverse experience are able to make a profit effectively. Without business experience in reality, many new introduced leaders in an enterprise cannot easily consider several affecting factors on their businesses. Further, new importing would not understand and recognize about their workers’ abilities and inclinations, which are necessary things to make a meaningful success of an enterprise. In this regard, regularly changes in leadership are not only advantageous but also counterproductive.

To sum, despite of the merit of giving a change to younger ones to become leaders in an organization, both advantages of old ones in an organization with long-standing characters in business and valuable experience of old ones tell us that frequently replacing in leadership is not always helpful. Thus I cannot fully agree with the concept that periodically changes in leadership.