In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are several situation where discussion among people having different view has lead to a positive outcome that has ultimately lead to progress. People having a contrasting point of view often emphasize on their opinion by citing different examples which often tends to cite different aspects of a situation leading to progress.

Different people may have different opinion on a particular topic. Usually this opinion is a matter of ones perspective on that particular situation and sometimes it originates from ones experience in a particular situation. Nevertheless their point of view matters as it helps to understand several aspects of a situation which in turn helps to judge the situation from several aspects. Demonetisation in India had some good consequences and some negative ones. But while judging this situation our opinion should not be limited to only our own point of view, instead its effect on the majority of the country’s population should be taken into account. This can be analysed properly when we know the different views people have on the effect of demonetisation.

Progress requires discussion among intellectuals who have different view on a particular situation and analyzing the reason for their opinion. People usually tend to think that a military effort by the superpowers of the world will lead to end of dictatorship in North Korea. But people do not take into account the fact that people in North Korea are under dictatorship for decades and have no idea about the advancement that has occurred all around the world over these decades. A military action may lead to a destabilized country causing a civil war in that region. A discussion among individuals having different opinion on this situation will help to understand the different aspect of this situation which will help to find a possible solution to this situation.

When World War II broke out many people in Britain had different opinion on Churchill’s decision to join hands with Stalin who was the leader of a communist nation. But at the end the allied forces were the one who won the war. It is not possible to judge a situation even large number of people have similar view on a situation. We need to judge the situation from the point of view of different people who have different opinion on the topic.

Although sometimes a discussion among people having different opinion on a situation may lead to a mess but most of the time it results in progress. Hence in any situation discussion among people having different view on the situation leads to progress.