The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Nature's Way, a

chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Previous experience has shown that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents

are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build our next new store

in Plainsville, which has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of

running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly

closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight

training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of

customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a 'fitness for life' program,

which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

The following argument assumes that since the people of plainsville are concerned about their physical fitness they will be attracted to the health food and other health related products sold by nature’s way, but that may not be the case as the residents of the town may like exercise in which case they may not agree with the use of health food and products for being physically fit.

The residents of plainsville show a tendency to buy products related to exercise for being physically fit but its not clear if they support the use of the health food and products. The merchants of the town have reported the sale of running shoes and exercise clothing being all-time high but there is no data to support the same for health food and other health related products. The local health club also has more members than ever and the weight training and aerobics are also full, which shows that the residents are interested in engaging themselves in more physical activities to keep themselves physically fit. but they do not show any tendency to use health food or any health related products. although nature’s way franchises tend to be more profitable in areas where residents lead a healthy life, it doesn’t necessarily mean that residents of pensville are like residents of other area where residents are attracted to the use of health related food or products.

The argument states that the schoolchildren in pensville are required to participate in fitness-for-life program, but it also states the fact that the program emphasizes the benefit of regular exercise at an early age. emphasizing about the benefit of exercise doesn’t mean that the children are encouraged to use health products. there is no evidence in this assumption that tells that the schools while encouraging students about the benefits of regular exercise will also encourage students to use health related food and other health related products.

although one nature’s way starts selling its products in pensville, residents may be attracted to the benefits of using such products and start using them thus boosting the sale of the store and making the successful in pensville, but the argument simply doesn’t provide enough data to assume this. The residents of the city are more focused to the benefits of exercise that the benefits of health food and health related products as stated in the argument.