In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author poses the opinion that discussion between people holding different points of view is crucial to progress. To a large extent I agree with this assessment.

Progress is a large term to define, but in my understanding, progress, if put into the context of a nation state, refers to the collective growth of physical and emotional health, and economic wellbeing for all citizens. While many of us have been taught at a young age to respect the opinions of others, our limited social spheres and predetermined economic situations dictates that our opinions will inevitably take on a a fixed shape relevant to the people around us. In this case, our own lived experiences cannot define the lived experiences of others. Our skin color, our economic status, our age, our parents' occupations etc., these are all elements that determine who we are, and what ideology we prescribe to. In order to make progress possible for the many different people who have grown up in different political and economic backgrounds from our own, it is crucial to identify these differences and take them into consideration when establishing government policy. When we start to purposefully inhibit the expression of certain points of views, then we are erasing the experiences of certain populations, and in doing so, mitigating the possibility of achieving shared progress.

We can look at the United State's current political climate to see the perils of failing to consider contrasting opinions, and how doing so obstructs progress in the worst way. The U.S. government is currently caught in a stalemate between the Democratic and Republican parties, each party seemingly unwilling to take into consideration the ideological standpoints of the other when making decisions, and even resorting to toxic and divisive measures to taunt and make a mockery of the other in order to gain a discursive upper hand. However, this binary dichotomy we see in politics today does nothing to advance the living situation of ordinary U.S. citizens. Bills that make it through the House are unable to pass the Senate; certain universal goals are pushed into the background to make way for ideological debates; political officials work less on passing legislation, and more on appealing to the emotional () of their constituents. The tensions between "left" and "right" are heightened to such a degree that very few people on either side are even willing to acknowledge that the other's position might very well come from a place of valid consideration, or how the other's goals might actually coincide with their own. Because of our own inability to discuss with the people on the other side, we have blinded ourselves to the needs of other people, and in doing so made it impossible to advance the wellbeing of society as a whole.

The author is very definitive in their stance, yet it is also important to note that despite the importance of recognizing the spectrum of different points of view, and their importance in making progress, certain points of view are so morally and logically flawed in nature that they should be excluded from consideration. To expand on the topic of American politics, the current debate over race is an example of how certain points of view can hinder the way of progress. While there has been a huge surge in anti racist sentiment, there is still the presence of certain groups that base their hateful ideology on the notion that one race is superior to the other. In this case, discussion does not suffice. Progress requires the mutual respect of citizens, and their ability to empathize on both a moral and logical level with other people. People who bear these ideologies do not have the capacity to do so, and as such discussion with them will not yield progress, but hinder it.

The author makes a very thought provoking claim, and while I agree with them in many aspects, there are certain exceptions that make progress possible without discussion.