Because people increasingly feel compelled to share their personal details online the right to privacy is eroding

Currently we live in a world that has been completely taken over by the huge overflow of information, information that is accessible over the internet. But to be part of that ecosystem, one has to give up some amount of freedom they have to their privacy to be able to access and participate on this platform. As life without access to such services is almost impossible across different socio-economic groups, it is becoming difficult to get away without sharing such information. The claim argues that the right to privacy is eroding due to the constant persuasiveness of online services to share one's personal and private details, thus the right to privacy being reduced to a shadow of former self which it was. I agree with this for two reasons, however I do believe that there has been a few initiatives worldwide that have alleviated these concerns to some extent.

Firstly, the right to being private online has reduced as almost any service you want to have access to will require you to share your personal details to be able to use it. This may include an email address and even in some cases your phone number. A decade ago it was probably possible to get away without having to even share these details to have access to such services, but now days as the focus shift for online companies to get more users and keep them engaged to their services for continued usage, harvesting such information has almost become the norm. It is not just about the information sharing that is the issue here, but also about difficulty in turning on privacy settings. For instance, if someone wants to have use social media platforms such as Instagram or TikTok, most of their details are shared publicly and it is a complicated set of arcane settings one needs to get through to set the right privacy settings. Thus, with various tech companies having a dogged determination to collect more and more data, right to privacy has almost gone for a toss. This leads to user having to share some data which they might not want but have to as they are made to feel the fear of being left out if they don't have access to such platforms.

Furthermore, personal data is the moat that companies strive to build as it pays a lot, which is a major cause for the right to erode. Internet runs on advertising revenues and as most of the revenue that companies generate is through ads served to users browsing such websites, these companies are incentivised to harvest and track users activity online just to get an ad click which will earn a small amount of money, such small amounts are drops that fill an ocean. For example, you will see ad suggestions based on you email with friends and family when you sometimes browse some websites, its not a coincidence but a clear example of right to privacy eroding. Its not just ads, but user data can also be used for cause polarisation in elections. For example, during the presidential election of 2016, Facebook came under scrutiny for letting a firm Cambridge Analytica access to personal user data to help a certain political party gain advantage at the expense of user privacy. Thus, we can see that such blatant disregard for user privacy is what leads to higher profits and reduces the right to privacy.

However, I do concede that some initiatives by certain governments and corporations have helped the users to maintain some amount of privacy online. A recent regulation passed by the European Union GDPR, which is a policy to prevent websites to save "cookies", or data to personally identify a user's identity online, without explicit user context. But even such rules coerce people to enable saving of cookies to get the full experience. Another example is Apple preventing user tracking across, which has led to fall in revenues of certain advertisers. Such initiatives help to a level.

In conclusion, right to privacy online is now a distant dream for anyone who wants to be able to have access to such services. There are initiatives which have mitigated such concerns to a level, but they are trivial as compared to invasion of privacy that has happened.