Claim: Schools should begin teaching students a second language as early as possible.

Reason: Early acquisition of a second language is vital to help students become global citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

Language is an essential part of any culture, but it is just a tool to understand and be able to converse with the people of that particular region. If the political and social background of a foreign region is unknown to a non native speaker, it is not of much use as it will be in ineffective in providing an edge in foreign lands. With this in mind, I mostly disagree with the claim that schools should begin teaching a second language as early as possible and the provided reason with it. I also disagree with for another reason, but I do concede that a second language if learnt early can provide some upside later in career which students might not be able to foresee at a younger age if they are in developing economies.

Firstly, becoming a global citizen means much more than just learning a second language, thus teaching students another language at a younger age doesn't serve much purpose if the context behind the culture of that language is not taught. If the nuances of that culture are not known, then student will end up being a translator, rather than a 'global citizen'. Such complex issues are issues are usually taught at college level, where courses are oriented towards disciplines such is International Studies and Foreign Policy based courses. For instance, consider a student studying is a junior high in the US is taught Arabic, given that there has been a lot of interaction with the region in recent times. Just learning a language of a region which has been under major strife for a long time will not be very helpful for the student in future unless he is also taught about the issues the region has had to face. This can only be taught at higher education level or can be learnt on their job, but unless the wider cultural perspective is available, learning a language doesn't provide much advantage over others at being a global citizen.

Furthermore, the choice of second language which a student is taught at an early age is also a matter of importance. As the world is evolving these days, there are major power centres which have been coming up. Regions like South East Asia have countries such as Indonesia, Philippines and China, South Asia has India with multitude of languages that are spoken, then there is Middle East with its own set of languages and South America with Portuguese and Spanish as majority spoken languages. Thus it is difficult to judge which language will be most beneficial for a student going forward and will not be very helpful unless a clear path is there for a student with an agenda to learn a particular language. Sometimes even though a language is learned by a student a young age, who for example learns Hindi, which is spoken by majority of population in northern part of India, might not find it of much use if a need comes for doing business in the southern part of India where it is hardly spoken. Similarly, a student having a good hand is Spanish or french which was taught to him earlier at school might not find of much use later on if majority of his work focuses on China related client or rather he ends up choosing a career as a computer programer where this skill is not utilised at all. Thus, the choice of the second language plays an important role and choosing a language for a young student might not be very prudent unless their future path is very clear to them. So burdening with the load of an extra language to learn might not be very helpful.

However, I do concede in case of developing economies of Asia and Africa, learning a second language has played an important role in helping students get jobs and compete at a global scale. A major second language that has played a role in this is the English language, which is taught as a second language to majority of students from a very young age. India and Vietnam have programs to teach students English language from primary school itself. Specifically in India, due to government programs the population is well verse with english language that a lot of jobs from US have been given to employed youth here compared to China, where focus on English education is not a lot. Thus learning a second language early on does give edge in the highly competitive global landscape of today.

In conclusion, I do believe that the issue of learning a second language is a complex one. On one hand it does give an edge over competing for jobs in certain economies such as Asian and African countires, but for students in US saying that a second language makes them a global citizen when they are already familiar with english, which is the global language is a stretch.