The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people they lead.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the healthcare field, medical professionals work in teams of a plethora of people. There are doctors, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, nurses, social workers - the list goes on and on. There are many meetings and discussions that occur so the group can arrive at a final consensus however, because there are so many people, there are times when not everyone agrees. When it comes to clinical decisions, the responsibility usually falls on the doctor to make the final decision. The best leaders should encourage feedback from the people they lead, such as in meetings and discussions, however they should also possess qualities such as assertiveness and confidence for when they have to make decisions that the entire group may not agree with.

Hospitals and clinics use electronic medical records (EMR) systems for documenting visits and ordering labs and imaging. When University Hospitals (UH) came out with a new EMR, the system was slow and causing providers stress. Because of this, the CEO held a meeting to gather feedback on what needs to be improved with it. After much discussion, the changes were fixed one and one and now the EMR is functioning much better than before. The providers’ stress levels have decreased and now they can focus their attention and energy on seeing their patients instead of figuring out how the EMR works. This is one way that good leaders encourage feedback from the people they lead.

However, when there are too many dissenting opinions or too many individuals involved in decision making, a good leader should be comfortable with setting their feet down and making the final call. If multiple doctors on a patient’s case had varying ideas of what the treatment plan should be like, the leading doctor should take into account all the ideas but still be able to make the final call on what the treatment will be. Otherwise, if the doctors discuss for too long, the patient will be sicker and sicker and they will have to come up with a different treatment plan altogether.

The best leaders bring together a team of people to discuss ideas and encourage feedback, but they also are able to be assertive and confident in their own decisions if there are too many dissenting ideas. These qualities are useful for leaders in the medical field but also leaders in different fields, such as business and engineering, as well.