The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Leaders have the challenging task to develop and achieve goals. However, by definition, leaders are reliant on those who they lead to achieve such grandeur. As a result, I will argue that feedback from those who are being led is essential in achieving these goals and only through honest feedback, processes to achieve these goals can be improved.

Leaders must rely on the people they lead to achieve their dreams and ambitions. Taking a company CEO as an example, it is clear that feedback from employees is important and must be considered. Firstly, if feedback is properly recorded, for instance, through a company survey, and clear action is taken to address the issues raised by the results such survey, this can be beneficial to the company (beneficial how?). If for example, it becomes clear that employees are not satisfied with their level of pay throughout the company, a leader can undertake clear and decisive steps to address this issue. If then, the employees are satisfied with the steps taken to address this, they will be more likely to continue working at the company. All in all, given the importance of employees to achieve goals set out by leaders, when feedback is gathered and clearly addressed, this can stimulate and retain employees, which as a result ensures the achievement of the goals set out by leadership.

Moreover, clear feedback, especially when implementing ideas and processes can enhance efficiency. For instance, leaders should embrace the variety of feedback and opinions that those who they lead can offer. Not only can this provide different and innovative ways to look at processes but can overall simplify and improve them, thus improving the leader's chances to hit its targets and ambitions. A clear example of this, when looking at history and mythology, was during the battle of Troy when it was one of the army soldiers (and not the commander!) that suggested to hide within the wooden horse to be gifted to the rival army and hence surprise the enemies in battle by jumping out of the horse. Examples such as this emphasise the importance of listening and implementing feedback.

Notwithstanding, feedback especially when solicited by leaders may not always prove useful as those who are being led may fear repercussions and potential retaliation from the leaders themselves, were they to provide honest and potentially caustic feedback. When such a case is evident, the results of the solicitation of feedback may not be most conclusive and any actions taken as a result of it may only be deemed as ingratiating to the leader itself, thus not giving him/her a true picture of where potential issues with leadership may lie. The most skilled leaders, therefore, should be able to anticipate this and create an environment where accurate and honest feedback is welcome as it is key to improve and innovate the way by which leaders (and those who are being led) can achieve their pre-determined goals.

In conclusion, leaders should be receptive and welcome feedback as this allows them to clearly understand and tackle potential issues that may prevent them from achieving their ambitions. In doing so, the most skilled leaders should be open to honesty and aim to create an environment whereby those who are being led by them feel empowered to provide real feedback, which will be most effective in tackling issues with the current leadership and improve processes aimed at realising the collective ambitions and objectives.