The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A leader is someone with an ability to lead in times of crisis, take important decisions, and face those decisions, whatever the aftereffects. Leadership roles in government and industry are very crucial roles, because here the decisions that they make have far reaching consequences on the life of common man or the employees. As a result, they need to consult with a wide variety of people, respect their opinions, and listen to people who could get affected by the decisions. To build all these skills in a leader, he should be cooperative with all the stakeholders. I agree with the author's arguement that the best way for a soceity to prepare its young people for leadership is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

As a leader, one may face several challenging situations, that would require amazing people and cooperative skills. Taking an example of a government leadership role, consider a governor of a state who has to deal with a rioting population. In such a scenario, the Governor will have to initiate dialogue with all kinds of people. He has to listen to their demands, difficulties, etc., He may also have to listen to experts in the field, his co-workers, secretaries, etc., who knows the issue. All these are not possible if the Governor is not cooperative. Imagine a Governor, who does not care to any of these demands and takes a decision that he favours in a despotic manner. The situation in the state would worsen.

Young people aiming for leadership roles should be encouraged to be cooperative and not competitive. Intense competition may help the person to reach the role of the leader at the expense of others, but they may not be able to sustain further in that role or will not be able to be a good leader, as the skill of cooperation is essential to a leader.

Competition in the workplace has become more common these days, especially in industry and in government, where people in power often encourage their employees to be competitive. Some people may argue that healthy competition at workplace may often be beneficial for increasing productivity. But this competition should not amongst peers, but within oneself. One should compete with ones own potential to be a better version of them. Unhealthy competition among people would often lead to toxic culture. This is more common in several top investment banks in US, where there is a toxic work culture similar to survival of the most productive, where by employees who do not meet a certain expectation are laidf off. Moreover these expectations are often too high, leading several people getting laifd off. This eventually would make the company less productive in the long run.

In summary, competition may help to make leaders in short term. But to build a great leader, we should build the skills of cooperation. We should instill values of respect and empathy, as these would help them be amazong leaders.