The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

We know that young people are the future of society. They are the future leaders, entrepreneurs, athletes, scientists. Instilling them with the proper tools to ameliorate our society would be our prime responsibility. The prompt suggests that, instilling young people with the mindset of cooperation instead of competition is the way for them to create a better society. I mostly agree with the prompt as cooperation can have better outcome compared to having competition between them. I have two reasons as to why it is better to have cooperation, although I concede that having competition would improve a persons outcome because they have a rival to compare themselves with.

First of all, when a person incorporates cooperation in doing a particular task, they invoke a sense of friendliness with the other persons they are working with. For example, In school days, where each class has to present a project to the school. In this scenario a class working together in developing the project, each person in the class will get to know everyone's affinity and dislikes which help them form closer bonds with each other. This quality, when the student grows to be a leader or an institution, they know the benefits of working together and hence would form a more healthy environment instead of a hostile environment that can be caused due to competition.

Second of all, teaching children with sense of competition may instill them with invective behavior. For example, In a law firm, when a case comes across two junior partners and the one who does better in winning the case get to become a senior partner of the firm. In this case the person who is competing with the other would try many underhanded techniques to win the case and take credits to himself, because he was thought to be competitive. This in turn develops a bad relation between the persons and destroys the uniformity of the firm.

On the other hand, I would concede that competitive behavior can bring out the best in an individual as he has a measuring scale to compare himself with. For example: the child in a 100 meter race can improve himself by having a rival who can match his speed. This increases his speed and technique and overall increase his performance.

Hence I conclude by saying that, although it is good to have a competitive mind it is better to have a cooperative environment in an institution, for the institution to flourish in a positive way and reach better heights.