The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Leadership skills are very important aspect in any field be it government, industry, or any other fields. The growth of a particular team is very much dependent on the leader. I believe best way for a society to prepare young people for leadership is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

It is very important for a team leader to be cooperative rather than competitive. A leader is responsible for guiding, managing and success of the team. So, it is very crucial for a leader to be cooperative. For instance: In a cricket team, if the captain is not cooperative, but competitive with other players. There will not be a unity in the team, which may lead to competition within the team. If a captain is competitive with the players in his team, then he can never appriciate other team members or encourage them to play well, which may result in losing the game. Not only that, if a leader is not cooperative with the players in his team, it will be difficult for the team to play together and win the game.

Consider a political leader, one of the most important qualities of a political leader is to cooperate with the common people. For instance: Suppose there is a political leader who is not at all cooperative with the people and doesn't consider people's issues. There will be quarrel among the people and also the leader.

Competition might be important in some cases but not everywhere. For example: Suppose there are 2 teams working together for a same project and only one team will be selected based on the results. In this case the leaders of both the teams should be cooperative with the team members of their own team, at the same time they should be competitive with the other team in order to get selected.

To conclude, a sense of cooperation is an important quality of a leader, be it a cricket team or a political leader. A healthy competition is required when two leaders or teams are competing against each other but not within the team.