the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition

The best way for a society to prepare it's young generation for leadership in government, industry and other fields is by driving them in sense of cooperation with others but not by competiting with others. I strongly agree to this statement, even though the world is very competitive and one needs to out-run others to succeed, but for the proper functioning of society, one needs to cooperate with others as this world is inter-dependent on each other.

In a government, there are many sectors and departments, and a lot of coordination is required betweens these for adminstration of the government. For example, if government proposes to construct a bridge, at first the leader of the government need to interact with the civil department to finalize plans, and finance department for planning and disbursment of funds, and muncipal corporations for necessary approvals and permissions. In order to deal with these many people, a leader of a government should have a sense of cooperation rather than competition.

Since the world is revolutionized with the latest technologies, many industries emerge everyday. In each industry, many competitors arise and there will be a sense of competition among each other. Even though these competition is required in order to obtain right price levels and quality of prodcuts, a sense of cooperation among competitors is required to address societal problems collectively and provide long-term and innovative solutions. For example, consider Rail industry in Europe, different countries were dominated by different companies such as France by Alstom, Germany by Siemens and Italy by Thales. Each had its own standards and practices which made inter-country travel very difficult. But, an association formed by these companies and standardized the Rail technology, as a result rail travel between countries became seemless. This shows how cooperation in industry enhance way of living by developing technologies together over competiting with each other.

Almost in every field, cooperation is ver much required for a leader and as well as others. In Cricket, there were many instances where senior players of one team gave advices to junior players of other's team. This helps in overall development of game and also shows sportsman-ship of players. Though sports is a competitive industry, competition should be restricted only to the ground and outside one should help others in enhancing their skills.

Lastly, I would conclude by stating theventhough competition pushes a person or organization to grow individually, but cooperation aids in collective growth of society.