Claim Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students Reason College students like people in general prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisi

Colleges and universities should specify all courses and remove the practice of electives, I mostly disagree with this claim because this will mold students to follow directions and they dont develop the skill of choosing the best out of all the choices available and students minds become rigid and skill-set along with interests will be limited.

By fixating on the courses, students' knowledge will be restricted to those particular domains. They don't get an opportunity to explore other domains. In real world even though it is required to have expertise on a particular subject but students need to have a basic knowledge of other subjects or domains. Since the world has lot of inter-dependencies, a person who have some knowledge on other domains will be able communicate and coordinate with the other domains. It also assists in cross-functional discoveries. Therefore, taking this step of eliminating electives is not a right one.

One more important aspect to be considered is about the interests of students. Students, when they are allowed to chose an elective they might show interest in subjects or topics which are not part of their core competence. For example, I took up electronics and communication engineering branch during my graduation which focuses on electronics and communication part, but I have developed interest in coding in course of time which is due to taking an elective subject of software programming. This also helped me in early days of my job where coding experience was required to understand the technology. So, having electives instead of specified courses do help students in exploring other interests.

Though colleges and universities specifying all required courses and eliminating elective courses give clear guidance to students, it limits the students for exploring other aspects and their knowledge is limited which is not suitable for today's fast changing and inter-dependent world.