The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

For any society to grow and prosper, it is of utmost importance that the young people are prepared to take leadership roles in government, industry, or any other field. A society functions at it's highest level when the leaders of the society as well as the people who have chosen these leaders are working hand in hand for the overall betterment of the society, however, in no way, it implies that competition is inimical for the development of youth and in turn, for the advancement of society. While I agree with the statement that a sense of cooperation needs to be instilled among the youth, I do also believe that a sense of competition is equally important as well.

Development of young population is one of the most important topic that the government of any nation should not be taking lightly. Developing nations like India are prime examples of how the development of young population is fundamental for the development of the overall nation. In a country like India, education system is such that a sense of competition gets deep rooted in the minds of children from a very early age. Parents and the entire society keeps on pushing their children to extreme limits in the name of development, however, this rarely works as intended. This type of pressure usually leads to the development of toxic mindset and unhealthy competition amongst young people. While competition amongst the youth is important for their overall growth in any sector, it needs to be controlled in a way that the young population of the society doesn't always feel the need to compete with their peers. Society as a whole needs to shift this paradigm. From imbibing a sense of cut throat competition at a very young age, we need to teach the youth about how cooperation amongst all the section of society is equally important.

If young people are taught sense of cooperation from the very beginning, it will lead to a healthy development of the overall society. For example, if a child has a passion towards administrative servives, he/she needs to build that sense of cooperation which will lead him/her to serve the public in the best way possible. A public servant who doesn't inspire sense of cooperation will not be able to bring the society together for it's overall betterment. Similarly, there are numerous people in today's world who are building start-ups at a very young age. They are running billion dollar companies in their early twenties. A leader who doesn't instill a sense of cooperation in the overall enviroment of his/her company is definitely being myopic and this might have a detrimental impact on the overall growth of the company.

While we have talked about sense of overall cooperation in the public services, running a business etc., we cannot ignore the role of competition in the overall development of any section of the society. I strongly believe that healthy competition along with a sense of cooperation is the way forward and while the both may be looked upon as two completely distinct powers operating against each other, the best way for a society to prepare it's young people for leadership is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation as well as healthy competition so that while they are working with each other for attainment of a certain goal, they are also not hesitant in working against each other, motivating each other in the spirit of competition to build something significant for the society.