The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The leaders of tomorrow are todays youth and the discussions and debates on how to raise the existing generations of youth has always been a hot and important topic among the public, policymakers, schools and many more communities. Withing this debate the leading topic of contention has been been whether leaders need to be cooporative in order to be deemed succesful or be highly competitve. While being competitive may feel like the obvious choice for a dominant trait in a leader, as it may - on the face of things- project power and strength, cooporation is actually a trait much more powerful and the subtleness of its strengths actually make a leader more authorotative and convincing.

Firstly, one of the most major tasks of a leader is to negotiate, whether that is negotiating with his/her team to have their back and believe in the the leaderhip or negotiating with counterparties or gevernments. And as we all know, the first rule of negotiation is not try to one up the party you deal with (i.e. compete with them) but rather to understand matters from their vantage point and come up with solutions in which both parties feel like they have won and maintain mutual respect - for these are the negotiations that build string and long term relationships.

Secondly, cooporation allows leaders to build a roport of being trustworthy, equitable and reliable, soft skills that take time develop but build a reputation that is extremely powereful. It builds a reputation that helps in the tough times and it these times that also help define a leader.

It is true that leaders need to maintain a tough stance and expect others to be competing and this forces people to thing that having a stronger sence of competitve is a supirior trait. While leaders need to be on their toes for this, being cooporative actually helps, because when you deal with highly competitve people in a cooporative manner, they are thrown off guard and suddebnly you have the upper hand in the negotiation and also the respect of the counterparty. Infact in some cases the counter party might even mistake your cooporativness for weakness, which again puts you in a stronger position.

In conclusion, while both qualities are important, our young peple must be instilled with a sense of cooporation to help them develop into ideal and impactful leaders. They should be tought the subtle arts and strengths of being cooporative in order to fourish.