The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competitiveness.

To lead people, one must be willing to cooperate with those we are leading. But it also involves us being competetive with others; a leader who does not compete with others cannot be a good leader. As such, preparing young people for leadership is a difficult task as it is hard to know what to prioritize, being competetive or instilling a sense of cooperation. However, instilling both these traits is essential for a good leader, although our focus must be more on cooperation rather than competetion.The reason for this is that even in the most competetive events in human society, cooperation is much more essential.

This is evident in events like competetive sports, which at the minimum require a cooperative effort between a player and their coach(es) in solo events, and requiring the cooperative effort between multiple players in the case of team events, where worse teamwork might lead to defeat. Sure, competetive nature helps, but without a cooperative effort, victory is impossible in these events. Even in other competetive areas like academic olympiads, cooperation between the student and his mentor is essential to success in addition to his own effort. If the world's most competetive events require the cooperative effort of multiple people for success, then any event less competetive also requires the cooperative effort of multiple people for success.

This is seen even more so in the case of leadership roles. A good leader who listens to his followers(for lack of a better term) is going to be more efficient compared to a bad leader. For example, democratic countries are more successful compared to any other form of government because these take into account the opinions of all its citizens in one form or another, thus being far more advanced compared to other government types. Other governments fell because their monarchs or dictators did not listen to their people, tried to supress their freedoms and opinions, and in the end not only failed to do so, but lost their power too in the process. As such, listening to subordinates is essential to a leader. Even in industries, the most successful ones are those that listen to thir employees' greviences, attempt to fix them, and provide comforts to them. These industries achieve groundbreaking success only through this method, the best example being Ford motors run by Henry Ford. It was the first mass production factory that also provided the first weekend holidays and other benefits, thus becoming the biggest car producer of its time.

Some might argue that in business fields, competetiveness is essential to success, and shpould be prioritized over cooperativeness, as in the case of the free market, where one's success is inherently the failure for another. But this is not necessarily the case. Companies like Standard Oil, the biggest oil manufacturer in USA in the early 1900s were broken up due to their malpractices and illegal methods of improving profits like railway rebates. And this still does not change the fact that a leader needs to lead his subordinates, and cannot succeed without them. In the case of markets, the subordinates are the employees, poor treatment of who would lead to bad results. Even companies like Standard at its heyday respected their employees' as the ones essential to run the companies smoothly.

Thus, being competetive does not mean we cannot cooperate with others.In conclusion, a person needs to be taught to be both comptetive and cooperative and the lack of either one of these traits would lead to failure. As such, I agree that we should prioritize cooperativeness, but disagree that we shouldn't teach competetiveness to youngsters, and thus only partially agree with the viewpoint.