The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There must be cooperation as well as competition between people for them to succeed. Cooperation between individuals helps them to achieve their goals while competition pushes one to make more difficult goals. A society must instill in its young people a sense of cooperation as well as competition to prepare them for leadership in government, industry, or other fields.

If two individuals with the same aspirations cooperate to complete a goal, then it becomes easier for them to achieve it. For example, cooperation between two individuals led to the creation of Apple. Steve Jobs was responsible for its marketing, while Steve Wozniack was responsible for the technical stuff. Now, Apple is one of the biggest companies in the planet. The cooperation between them was a key factor for this.

Competition between people can lead them to dream big. They might be focussed on outperforming others, and so might achieve difficult goals. For example, Tesla was the first car company to produce only electrical cars. Tesla is a successful company now. This prompted other car manufacturers like Mercedes to get into electrical cars. They haven't yet revealed a fully functional electric car. Once they do it, their car might perform better than Tesla's current cars, in which case, Tesla will have to make their cars even better in terms of mileage, distance travelled per unit of charge, charging time, top speed, acceleration, etc. This will make the existing electric cars even better. If Tesla had no competitor, then it will maintain a monoploy over electric cars; it may fix very high prices for its cars, and their quality needn't be top tier.

But, unhealthy competiton has its disadvantages. The animosity between competitors might make the environment inimical. To outperform the other, they might resort to using illegal methods. For instance, Volkswagen has revealed that it has used deceptive methods to pass the vechicle emission test. There was a sensor in the cars which sensed if the car was undergoing an emission test, in which case it limited the emission of gases; otherwise, it didn't control the emissions. This type of deceptive methods employed by companies doesn't help the general public. The image of such companies is tarnished when such scandals are revealed.

In conclusion, young people must be instilled with cooperation as well as healthy competition. This is the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields.