The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

Leadership is vital to a society since it dictates how a society grows. Instilling the spirit of cooperation and teaching the youth how to be good leaders in industry government and other fields brings positive outcomes in future generations. Cooperation ensures smooth workflow in industries, peace and friendliness among governments and nations and encourages people to be team players.

As much as competition helps society realize high quality products in its industries, and prevents the rise of individual magnates dictating certain aspects of the economy leading to monopoly, competition also brings with it major challenges. Industrial competition leads to high price of products due to companies spending more money promoting there products. It also leads to specious and misleading advertisement in order to attract more customers.

Very often there are fierce competitions during election periods in third world nations. For example, in Kenya, presidential elections usually result to violence and killing of innocent people, especially those who oppose or protest against the incumbent regime. The competition for power leads to disunity among citizens due to bad politics and results to marginalization of certain communities whose leaders are not in high offices. Developed countries are non-exempt to this ordeal. For example in the United States, Presidential candidates very often rally support from states they identify with. The country tends to be torn apart as either democratic or republican supporters during the electioneering period. This sort of competition always makes people uncomfortable especially when they are around people who align themselves with different political groups.

In conclusion, The Society would thus benefit more from instilling virtues of cooperation teamwork and discipline to its youth as opposed to competition if they are to make sound reasonable and better leaders of the future.