The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Some people contend that promoting cooperation with others is a favorable attitude for young people developing leadership, while others argue that fostering a sense of competition is more desirable. There are valid arguments for each side and it is not a black or white choice to decide who is right. However, considering that the sense of unity promotes individual's efforts, I believe that instilling a sense of cooperation is more crucial.

The chief reason for my assertion relies in the notion that leaders are those who are responsible in letting everyone, no matter what disability they have, to be included as a member of a society. No one can live with integrity when feeling alone and left out. Look at the world where so many of the elderly, minorities and people with disabilities being left out. In a society where competition is focused, those people can only be engaged in certain jobs or may even have to completely rely on other's support. Gradually, their existence and their sufferings are being revealed through social media, and Shinzo Abe, the prime minister of Japan, has launched an initiative, namely "Participation of the 1,000 million people." This initiative consider the importance of including the whole population to be active in the society.

The importance of cooperation can be explained in the aspect of industry. People mostly work in team for any kinds of projects. In such cases, the team leaders are not supposed to be a dictator to be the winner of a competition. Rather, the team leader has the responsibility to supervise other member's work. If anyone is facing trouble, the leader will modify the tasks and put in additional support or give advice to improve the situation. Being a junior consultant working in team projects myself, I insist that young people are watching how leaders act, and they learn what leadership is from them.

A similar statement can be said in the case of cooperation in sports. I was in a gymnastics team in high school, and in fact gymnastics are performed individually. However, when we practice new acrobatic activity, we need support from other members to prevent any occurrence of injury during practice. At the competition, the team cheer for others and feel happy when others make accomplishments. The sense of unity is important to have enough confidence when it's your turn to perform alone in front of many people evaluating your performance.

In summary, as far as the importance of teamwork is concerned, I insist that the society should promote young people build the sense of cooperation so that individuals can live with integrity.