"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

At first glance, the advertising director's conclusion that the Super Screen Movie Production Company should further invest in the advertisement for their movies. However, a thorough investigation reveals that this claim relies on a series of assumption, which causes the entire argument wholly unconvincing. Before any final conclusions are made, the director should evaluate the validity of supporting data used to justify the conclusion critically and objectively.

First and foremost, the director does not provide enough concrete data in insisting that the increase in the percentage of positive reviews about the Super Screen movies is a meaningful trend which could compensate the decrease in the number of customers. If there are just a few numbers of movie reviewers, say five people, and if two people had previously given a positive comment and a third reviewer added another one in the past year, the percentage will grow from 40 percent to 60 percent. Therefore, the director must evaluate the validity of the data about the increasing positive reviews by certain movie reviewers and compare the numbers together.

In the second place, the director assumes that the positive reviews for specific Super Screen movies justify that all of the movies are qualified. It is necessary to question which movies were scored with high evaluation points and which were not. The decline of the number of people attending the Super Screen-produced movies may have been caused by certain boring movies that led them to feel reluctant to watch any other movies. Without ruling out this possibility, the director's argument that the public lacking in the awareness of their movies remains absolutely unpersuasive.

Thirdly, the director needs to consider whether investment in advertising in the past years had not contributed to the recent trend of the decreasing number of attendees. If the company had been allocating a greater share of the budget to advertisements in the past year during the same time period as mentioned in the argument, further public relations will not be the best choice. There may be some problems in the way of the advertisement, but it is definitely possible that the trend has been caused by different factors rather than the public's lack of awareness.

As discussed above, the director's claim relies on several assumptions that are not sufficiently supported. Before arriving at the final conclusion, the director should acknowledge that the argument lacks sufficient data and thorough investigation is necessary in order to make the argument more compelling.