The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or any other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A society is best able to succeed and thrive as a result of their ability to communicate with each other and work together as people. Leaders are necessary and even helpful in all fields, with successful leaders distinguishable by their ability to understand and relate to those they are leading. In order to ensure that young people will be apposite leaders in a society, teaching a strong understanding of cooperation and its' necessity will bode better for the individuals and the society, as opposed to instilling a sense of competition.

Leadership in government, industry, or any other field will involve an individual or group of individuals leading or overseeing a likely larger, diverse group of people. Understanding cooperation and how to compromise are necessary traits for leaders to ensure that all people are working well together. In an example of a manager overseeing a group of workers, a leader must understand how those workers think and behave, which may be drastically different from the manager. It is important to communicate and understand other's perspectives in order to maximize efficiency and output, while minimizing stress and failure. The ability for a leader to view situations from others' points of view can foster mutual understanding about goals as well as struggles. A strong leader would be able to clearly understand why individuals have certain values and expectations, and eventually understand their stance and perspective without even inquiring. A strong leader would understand the importance of working together within and between teams and groups of people.

More likely than not a leader will need to work with other leaders, either in the same group or between different groups. The importance of cooperation and teamwork are further emphasized here, as a strong leader should be able to not only communicate with and understand those they oversee, but also those they work with. Leaders on the same team should be able to cooperate and communicate enough to agree on important goals and struggles. If all leaders in an area are not in agreement about focusing on the betterment of the team, issues could arise and hinder success and progress. A sense of competition can lead to argument and even conflict, which can waste valuable time and resources in nearly any situation.

Instilling a sense of competition in young people does not well prepare them for leadership as it teaches young people to focus on themselves instead of understand others and what may be best for the group as a whole. It also may impede the ability to work through issues or disagreements, as one would be used to navigating barriers for personal and individual success, rather than the growth of the group or team. While one must concede that cooperation could, in some circumstances, lead to complacency and reaching less than one's potential, it is still a far more important and innocuous than focusing on instilling competitive nature. Leaders are most successful in their positions when those they lead like and respect them.

Focusing on fostering teamwork and cooperation can lead to greater success and less conflict than a focus on individual success and competition.