"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

The issue claims that society should be instilling a sense of cooperation but not a competition in the young people to prepare them for leadership in government, industry, or any other field. We shall now discuss the most compelling reasons for taking a stand on this claim and develop them to have an effect over the claim. I mostly disagree with this claim of instilling cooperation but not a competition in young people. The below paragraph explains the reasons and examples supporting my take on this claim.

Definitely, cooperation between the individuals is needed for the betterment of the society which they are living in. But, I feel that healthy competition between people makes it more lively and a great place to live. To support this let us look into an example of a school which conducts a science exhibition of building robocars which automatically traces a path drawn on the ground. When the students are tested for their cooperation, they form a group and build a prototype and it fares well. But when they are to compete against other students, they think to work in a way to beat the other students in the competition thereby optimizing their models as good as they can - ultimately the student who designs a model better than all the other contestants wins. In this example as we have seen- in the first case, when they were competing as a team, there was a very little room for optimization, as they have no one to compete against, all their focus would be only on catering the need. But as we have seen in the second case when they are asked to compete against others, they would start thinking in new ways, out of the box. They keep pondering over the models that their peers would be building, ultimately enhancing their level of thinking in other dimensions. Which when true seriously undermines the claim as the is no room for the betterment and things will be even more stagnant as everything is absolute. But the real magic starts happening when it is relative. When we try to be better than the other in the room, we, in turn, augment ourselves better than us.

So from the above examples, it can be concluded that competition is more important than cooperation for the bettering of society. Whereas, some people may argue that cooperation increases the ability to work collectively, corroborating and complementing each other as no one can be good in all the areas. It also holds some water, hence we can finally conclude that while competition is essential for the growth of critical thinking in young people, cooperation should also be instilled in their minds for the ultimate betterment of the society. So Cooperation should be taught when the young people are saturated in their thinking levels and they are going to join the industry/society like right after college.