The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company."According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than i

The argument discusses a memo from the advertising director of a movie production company and it makes a recommendation of increasing the viewership by allocating a greater share of its budget to reach the public by advertising. There are many questions to be answered by the author before assessing if the recommendation based on the evidence presented holds water. We shall discuss three of the questions that are to be answered to evaluate the recommendation by the author.

Firstly, Is the decrease in the viewership solely due to the people who reviewed the movies as bad? In other words, Are the people who didn't watch the movie, previously watched one from the same production house, reviewed it as bad and didn't watch the recent on? This question is a very important one because, it has a huge effect over the recommendation made as, if it is true that the people who watched an old one and felt bad about it and abstained from the recent one- even if the company allocates major share to advertising the people who were lost due to the bad reviews are never going to come back(in case of advertising) and other strategies should be developed to bring them back.

Secondly, Did the entire industry's viewership decline? This is also one of the important question to be answered because if the whole industry's viewership is declined, it means that the people are not inclined to watch movies(at least at this point of time) may be due to some natural calamities like tsunamis, earthquakes, etc and maybe the reason could also be famines or recession when people are bent to saving their income to carry on their livelihood. So the answer to this question has a significant effect over the recommendation the author has made,

Lastly, Are these statistics compared are of the movies with the same genre? The answer to this question if "NO" proves that the recommendation made is based on unwarranted evidence as two movies of different cannot be compared while keeping a lot of audience in perspective.

So the above three questions are needed to be answered so has to evaluate if the recommendation made by the author holds water or not. If not the author should answer them by providing more evidence regarding the premise.